I know. I know. Dunkin’ Donuts…really? Why DD in a city of hundreds of great coffee shops?? I start with DD simply because I have spent by far the most time here than any other shop, for no other reason than it being close to my kost (boarding house), has good AC, good wifi, and couches. Plus donuts! Here me out. It’s not my favorite, but certainly not the worst. Plus often times there’s a deal for buy six donuts, get six free!

Character (1)

As you can imagine, the character of this shop is not very good. There’s no uniqueness or interesting decoration. It’s very similar to DD in America.

Another drawback is that there is no music. Instead, they play the TV, which is usually the music channel broadcasting some weird music game show thing…it’s very strange. Sometimes it can be extremely loud as well.

So yeah…not too much going for it, but the outside seating is nicer. Except, it is right on Jakal, so traffic is loud. It is also Indonesia, so AC is preferred if staying for a long time.

Comfort (3)

This is the main draw for DD. The wifi there is very good. Sometimes it goes out, but there are three different signals, so usually, one is always working well.

The AC is great there, which is not always the case. It’s actually cold inside! The couches are superb as well, so comfort is very high if you plan to stay for a long time. This has been my spot on my days off, staying there all day. And if you get hungry, what better than a donut snack, right? I prefer the triple choco myself.

Inside there is no smoking, which as a non-smoker, I can find smoke to be a problem in many local coffee shops.

The TV, as stated above, is a slight drawback on comfort, but I usually get used to it and tune it out. Sometimes they play movies, so that’s cool.

Coffee (1)

The coffee here is from a machine. It’s not bad, but certainly not great. They seem to have different coffee each week, but I’m still refining my coffee palette so perhaps I’m just imagining it. Anyways, there is definitely worse, but it’s nothing to rave about. **Update: it’s pretty bad

Price: Rp. 21k, but it’s more like two cups. Not a bad deal.

Brewing Methods: large drip machine

Single Origin? Nope

Overall Rating: 1

Recommended? No

Much better places out there, but you will almost always find seating inside. It’s very comfortable. If you plan to camp out all day, this may be a good place for you. If only staying for a couple hours or less, definitely go somewhere else.

______________________________________

Website

Address: Jalan Kaliurang Km 5,5, Mlati, Kec. Sleman, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia

