After much search, I finally found it. Do not be fooled by GoogleMaps. The address is not on Jl. AM Sangaji. The location moved. Anyways, once you go to the proper street, it’s not too hard to find. Upon walking in the shop, my immediate reaction was, “the search paid off”.

Character (4)

I must say that the character of Peacock Coffee is definitely the highlight. The walls are white painted cinder block, with some cool wall art. The art is simply painted on the wall with a black frame hung around it. Even the menu is just painted in black on the wall. Very unique. There is also a loft up above with red, metal stairs leading up to it, adding to the uniqueness. One entire wall is dedicated to windows, so the place is full of natural light, even on cloudy days (as it was when I went).

IMG_0495

The music is a more upbeat pop/electric. While that’s not my favorite music, it fits the shop, and I enjoyed it.

Also potential bonus. It’s open 24 hours for all you night owls (or early birds).

Comfort (2)

I must say, this is another one of those shops “with AC”, meaning it was still pretty hot inside. I don’t mind, but it’s definitely something to keep in mind.

Most seating is just with flat wooden chairs, but there is a back wall with a (lightly) cushioned bench along it (where I dwelled). There are only four spots back there, so you may or may not be able to snag a spot. Also the tables seem to be slightly to high, making it a little awkward for using…

The music is perfect volume, and the wifi is great. Also no smoke!

Coffee (2)

This place seemed like it was going to be one of the best of Jogja until I ordered. For one, they don’t sell coffee straight up, just espresso drinks. Oh well, that’s fine…I ordered the Americano. It’s served in a fairly big mug, which could definitely be downsized because it was a bit watery for my taste.

While the Americano probably deserves a 3, I give coffee overall a 2 because there was no black juice in it’s pure form. It was also pretty pricey, especially for being not so good.

But hey, cold drinks were served in large mason jar mugs, so that’s gotta be a bonus, right?

Price: 25k (Americano, although it is a larger mug than most places)

Brewing Methods: machine

Single Origin? Nope

Overall Rating: 3

Recommended: Yes

Even with all the bad things to say about the coffee, Peacock Coffee has much to offer to make up for it. I will definitely be returning in the future, although I will probably stick to non-coffee drinks from now on. Definitely a place to check out for the atmosphere and good days work.

___________________________________

Twitter

Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta, Indonesia (very small sign but when headed north from Ring Road Utara, on the left across the street from Grha Christina before the Hyatt)

Hours: 24/7

