I originally discovered EPIC during my search for somewhere to buy an Aeropress in Jogja, so if you’re looking, look no further (although you might need to email the owner first). It also doubles as a furniture store, which is kind of unusual…

Character (4)

The furniture shop aspect (not pictured below but appears off to the right) of EPIC gives it some uniqueness, but not really for the best. They both lie in the same warehouse, with 80% of it being the furniture shop. A perk is that it is very open.

The whole front wall is windows, which gives great natural lighting.

IMG_0452.jpg

There isn’t a ton of seating inside, but there is quite a bit outside too. However, it wasn’t very crowded either of the two times I went (they wouldn’t sell me an Aeropress the first time, so I had to go back).

Comfort (3)

There is no AC, but it seems to be relatively cool inside. There are only two small tables with cushioned seating, which are very nice. The music is very nice as well. No real complaints here.

Coffee (2)

The coffee game is strong. They have coffee from around Indonesia, although it seems that only a couple are available at any given time. They also have luwak coffee for 90k. I’d feel confident saying that you’ll be getting 100% luwak here and made well too.

Price: 35k

Brewing Methods: All

Single Origin? Yes

Overall Rating: 3

Recommended? Yes

My biggest knock on EPIC is that the coffee is super expensive, probably because it’s next to the Hyatt and also a well-known spot for foreigners to visit (also a knock because who wants to go to a coffee shop everyone knows about, right?). There are plenty of other places to get quality coffee for 10k cheaper. I am grateful for my Aeropress, but I will not be returning (although this will probably be where I try luwak coffee!). With that said, I think it’s worth a visit.

______________________________________

Website

Address: Jl. Palagan Tentara Pelajar No.29, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55581, Indonesia

