I found this coffee shop by recommendation from another person’s blog, and I can see why it’s one of her favorites. This place is a gem.

Character (4)

Upon parking, I was a little worried because it seemed like it might be too fancy, as it is connected to a restaurant (although not internally). Once you enter the coffee shop, it is entirely its own entity, so don’t fret.

Unlike Blackbone Coffee, the bread and butter of N0. 27 is not found on the walls. It’s found in the wall itself. The architecture of this place is what sets it apart and gives it its character. One wall is hemispherical in shape with well cushioned booths hugging up against it. As you can also see in the picture, there are green bottles built into the wall where the walls meet. A subtle, but nice touch. And as a big fan of brick, I appreciate that all the walls are unfinished red brick. The full chalkboard back wall is just icing on the cake.

There is less natural lighting in this place than others, but I went on a rainy day. On a sunny day, I’m sure it would be quite a bit better. Note: the rain was very loud inside.

It’s a very cozy shop inside with three places with couch seating (something I always look for), as well as five tables and a little bar like seating by the windows.

There was a good mix of music, but sometimes the volume would drop to being nearly inaudible.

Comfort (3)

I sat on one of the two couches facing one another with a coffee table in the middle. I was very satisfied with the couch. The tables at the booths are fairly distant from the couch though.

The AC was very good (even a little chilly at times), and the wifi was great. Zero smoke.

Coffee (3)

Best coffee yet! They had several different manual brewing methods and a list of six different single origin coffees to pick from. The price comes in at a very reasonable 25k too.

Price: 25k

Brewing Methods: Aeropress, French press, siphon, V60

Single Origin? Yep

Overall Rating: 4

Recommended? Absolutely

I really wanted to give No. 27 a 10, but I just couldn’t do it (I initially did but soon recanted…). It could use a little more natural light. The couches are really nice, but not really for lounging. It remains to be seen whether or not it’s an all day kind of place, essential for any 10, but those are really my only two knocks against it. Closest thing to a 10 yet.

As an added bonus, my friend ordered the Sultan’s tea (only Rp. 22k for a whole pot so like four cups!), and it was delicious! Served with rock sugar, fresh cinnamon bark, lime, and lemon grass. I couldn’t not mention it. Maybe the best tea I’ve ever had…

________________________________________

Twitter

Address: No.,, Jl. Demangan Baru No.19, Kec. Depok, Sleman, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia

