Take a short drive off of Jl. Gejayan and you will find this great little coffee shop. Easy to find and smack dab in the middle of a sea of cool stores. It was the land of the hipsters.

Character (4)

Simple. That is what characterizes this shop, but I like it. There is nothing super unique about it. There isn’t much decoration, but something just makes it feel good. It does, however, have a really cool floor and the exterior walls are all windows, which is nice. They also have a cold brew drip tower by the register. I don’t know if they use it, but that deserves a little respect.

The music while I was there was mostly Indonesian, but a very different style than I’m used to hearing. I really liked it. Also there are bird cages hanging right outside, so you can hear them singing very clearly. I think that’s pretty cool, certainly a lot better than the traffic that you hear at many shops, but some might find it annoying.

Also I just want to say that the baristas are very nice. She even asked me if I like my coffee strong or not when I ordered (STRONG!). We chatted some, and she even offered me a free cappuccino, although I declined…what was I thinking??? I feel like I could have just hung out with them if I wanted! Maybe next time…

Anyways, if you’re looking for a coffee shop with real baristas and not just waiters serving coffee, this is it!

Comfort (3)

Perhaps I’m giving this too high a grade because I like the shop so much…oh well. There is one table in the middle with like six stools, and the rest of the seating is round stools sitting at a very thin low bar surrounding the shop. I sat at the middle table. It was perfect for working.

As I mentioned though, I loved the music (and birds). Also the AC and wifi was maybe the best of any shop so far. It just felt good! I was there for like six hours, and although my butt can feel it now, I wasn’t terribly uncomfortable at any point.

However, there is smoking inside, but surprisingly it seemed to vent really went, even with them smoking right next to me. Maybe I’m just getting used to it…

Coffee (4)

The coffee is great! They had a selection of four or five origins at only 20k for V60, putting it right on line with the cheapest I have found thus far. The barista that served me has worked there for six years and actually won the regional barista competition for Jogja. (**Update: Qiqi opened her own shop called Opique.) They’ve also received an award for best coffee art in Jogja. Needless to say, I’m confident in their brewing abilities. They’re not just some chumps off the street if you know what I’m saying.

The only knock on the coffee is no Aeropress, French press, or chemex…otherwise it would be a 10.

Price: 20k

Brewing Methods: V60, cold brew, siphon

Single Origin? yes

Overall Rating: 4

Recommended? Yes

I love this place. I had intended to visit two shops today, but couldn’t get myself to leave. The feel was great in a way that is hard to put into words. Great small and cozy shop with great baristas. Hands down the best shop I have found to do work in.

Upon writing this review, I have discovered that there are two more Lagani coffee shops (as noted in the Instagram account), one just down the street from the one I went to. So exciting!

_________________________________________

Twitter — Instagram

Address: Jl. Cenderawasih No.4, Sleman, Daerah Istimewa Yogyakarta 55281, Indonesia

