So I remember a couple years ago my soon-to-be wife told me about this new favorite snack she found: chocolate-covered espresso beans. Thinking back, I remembered when my coffee-lover friend shared with me some of his chocolate-covered coffee beans. Boom. The seed was planted.

From that point on, I believed that coffee beans and espresso beans were different entities. I remember searching one day for chocolate-covered espresso beans, but all I could find was chocolate-covered coffee beans. What a failure, I thought…

So herein lies the question: are espresso beans and coffee beans different?

No.

Espresso is just another form of coffee, but one brewed using high pressure.

In fact, there is no such thing as an espresso bean, so don’t be fooled when you see a bag of coffee labeled espresso. To say it’s an espresso bean is marketing and could be compared to calling it an Americano bean. Espresso is just a drink made from coffee, which comes from a coffee tree.

Don’t be made a fool like I was any longer!

