A few months ago while I was pretty new to the coffee scene and didn’t know all the different names to the seemingly endless list of coffee drinks, I walked into a coffee shop. Normally I would just order black coffee (Chemex if available), but on this day, I was curious. I thought to myself, “Why not try something new?” That’s when I saw affogato. “That sounds good.” Then I asked just to clarify, is an affogato coffee mixed with avocado? I was sorely mistaken… “I’ll just take a coffee.”

You’re probably wondering why I thought that an affogato was coffee and avocado. That’s kind of weird, right? It’s totally because of the fact that I’m in Indonesia. Here one of the most popular juices is avocado juice, and they do in fact sell coffee mixed with avocado, even at Dunkin’ Donuts!

So while most people would not mistake affogato for avocado coffee, I bet a lot of people still have no idea what an affogato is.

So what is an affogato? 

Simply put: ice cream + espresso.

An affogato is more of a dessert. It’s a double shot of espresso poured over ice cream. As you can imagine, the ice cream will end up melting, creating a ice cream espresso drink. Of course, if you prefer, you can use more ice cream, so that it doesn’t all melt.

For home making, you can also substitute strong coffee for espresso. Perhaps try making concentrated coffee using an AeroPress of Moka pot. Another idea, although this wouldn’t really be an affogato anymore, is to try using cold brew concentrate. I’m sure it would be delicious and wouldn’t melt the ice cream so much (number one reason I don’t really like affogatos…). You can also experiment with different flavors of ice cream, although most shops will just use the default vanilla.

So there you have it! It’s a very simple drink that some people absolutely love. Personally, I’ll just take ice cream with a side of coffee.

 

