So I don’t know if you’re familiar with bulletproof coffee, but if you’re not, it will definitely seem pretty strange. Essentially, bulletproof coffee is just coffee with butter in it. And by butter, we’re not talking just a little sliver. We’re talking like 2 tablespoons of it.

If you’re like me, you’re probably thinking that sounds disgusting. Why would anyone do that? For various reasons actually. Some people claim to do it as kind of a meal replacement, so you’re morning cup of jo carries with it a little hunger eliminating fat, good for those that don’t eat breakfast or need breakfast on the go. It’s also been claimed to be healthy

Personally I’ve never tried this, but recently I heard about something a little more appetizing to me.

Coconut oil.

Instead of making bulletproof coffee with butter, you add a scoop (~2tbsp) of coconut oil. Coconut oil is considered by many to be very beneficial to your health (containing medium-chain triglycerides, or MCTs), which is a bit more believable than straight butter. The fat in it is said to be of the good variety and breaks down much faster, and thus won’t be stored. Some people actually eat a spoonful of this stuff straight up…no joke. I have a friend that does that.

The Test

This sounded interesting enough to try, so I decided to try a cup of my dark roast coffee with it. It actually came out really good. I’m not a huge fan of dark roast coffee because of the added bitterness and and overall less complex cup, but the coconut oil mixed with it very well.

The coconut oil knocked off a bit of the bitterness and added a nice, subtle sweet coconut flavor. Don’t get me wrong. This ain’t no piña colada, but it was very pleasant. It’s definitely something worth experimenting with more in other coffees.

What do you think about coconut oil coffee? Are you going to try it?

 

